To give something is to receive something

There are many things I have learned over the course of my life. Many things I am certain of, many things I Love, many things I despise, many things that make me happy, many things that make me angry, many things that make me worry, many things that pump me up and many things that give me meaning.

There are a few things that I am certain of. One of those things is the importance for a Christian to apply a servant attitude. I could go on about many quality type characteristic traits that are good and commendable, but instead I just want to express this idea of servanthood. Servanthood can be applied in every aspect of your life. From giving up 10% of your money to martyrdom, from working hard to provide for you family on Christmas to feeding the neighbors dog while they are gone, from loving a family member who betrayed your trust to forgiving your spouse for cheating on you. Acts of servanthood range from small to extreme.

Many people stress the importance of being a servant because of its effect on others. I want to point out something not often stressed. That is the effect of a honest servant attitude on ones own heart. To give something is to receive something greater than the gift given. When we give in a way that brings no recognition to ourselves, we are doing something hardly ever done. Matthew 6:4 stresses the importance of doing good things in secret so that we can be rewarded by the father and not by man. One should not move up in ministry until the grasping of servanthood is understood. If one does not have an attitude that brings glory to God in simple tasks such as setting up chairs for a church, they may not be ready to lead worship in front of hundreds, to play instruments in front of thousands, to speak to millions or evangelize to the multitudes.

_____________________

Verse 1

It’s evident you run the show, so let me back down
You take the leading role, and I’ll play the background
I know I miss my cues, know I forget my lines
I’m sticking to your script, and I’m reading all your signs
I don’t need my name in lights, I don’t need a starring role
Why gain the whole wide world, If I’m just going lose my soul
And my ways ain’t purified, don’t live according to Your Word
I can’t endure this life without Your wisdom being heard
So word to every dance, a foe, a pop star
‘Cause we all play the background, but mine’s a rockstar
Yeah, so if you need me I’ll be stage right
Praying the whole world will start embracing stage fright
So let me fall back, stop giving my suggestions
‘Cause when I follow my obsessions, I end up confessing
That I’m not that impressive, matter of fact
I’m who I are, a trail of stardust leading to the superstar

Verse 2

I had a dream that I was captain of my soul
I was master of my fate, lost control. and then I sank
So I don’t want to take the lead, ’cause I’m prone to make mistakes
All the folks who follow me, going end up in the wrong place
So let me just shadow you, let me trace your lines
Matter of fact, just take my pen, here, you create my rhymes
‘Cause if I do this by myself, I’m scared that I’ll succeed
And no longer trust in you, ’cause I only trust in me
And see, that’s how you end up headed to destruction
Paving a road to nowhere, pour your life out for nothing
You pulled my card, I’m bluffing, You know what’s in my hand
Me, I’m just going to trust you, You cause the dice to land
I’m in control of nothing, follow you at any cost
Some call it sovereign will, all I know is you the boss
Man, I’m so at ease, I’m so content
I’ll play the background, like it’s an instrument

Bridge:

I know I’m safest when I’m in Your will, and trust Your Word
I know I’m dangerous when I trust myself, my vision blurred
And I ain’t got no time to play life’s foolish games
Got plenty aims, but do they really Glorify Your name
And it’s a shame, the way I want to do these things for You
Don’t even cling to you, take time to sit and gleam from You
Seems You were patient in my ignorance
If ignorance is bliss, it’s ’cause she never heard of this

_____________________________

To follow God one must serve.

To share the gospel one must serve.

To serve is to show tangible salvation!

To serve is to explain to man the glorious reconciliation!

To serve is to give God the Glory!

To serve is to promote the most powerful Story!

To serve is to show the most incredible Love!

To serve shows the power that comes from above!

To serve confuses the most profound Atheist!

To serve is good but to serve God is the Greatest!

_____________________________

Christmas, the holiday, is over. But the reason for Christmas will never be over. That reason rises with the sun every morning. That reason sets with the sun every night. That reason can be seen in the moon. That reason can be seen on the glassy waters. That reason can be heard by humble. That can disturb the normal. That reason can be felt in the wind. That reason can be felt in the storms. That reason was born in a manger. That reason died on a cross. That reason is Jesus Christ.

He is the reason for Christmas, he is the reason for this season, the reason for the past season and the reason for next season.

Praise God! And to him be the Glory! Do not let the Spirit of Christmas die today but let Jesus make his home in your heart throughout this entire year. So again I say Merry Christmas!

Categories: Christ Centered, Christianity | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “To give something is to receive something

  1. I LOVE this post!!!!I strive to keep the heart of a servant and I find you end up being rewarded tenfold!!!!STAY TRUE!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

