Day 11 (shiloh)

Shiloh was the capital of the Jewish nation before Jerusalem. Judges 21:29 reads, “But look, there is the annual festival of the LORD in Shiloh, which lies north of Bethel, east of the road that goes from Bethel to Shechem, and south of Lebonah.” The story of Shiloh is definitely a strange one. To learn the story read Judges 21.

For me the significance of going to Shiloh lies in the archeological digs that are currently going on. I find Archeology intriguing and since we have now been informed that we will be going back to Shiloh to participate in an Archeological dig, my excitement has spiked. When I was around 15 I was part of a dig where we found fossils and Megaladon Shark teeth. I have in my possession a few teeth that are around four inches in length. The dig at Shiloh should be even more exciting. As a theology major planning to go into ministry having hands on experience with the stories I will be preaching from will be of huge benefit.

Today we had some interesting experiences with our tour guides. The biases of the guides we had today surpassed any we have had so far. A couple completely unnecessary comments were made regarding the values of certain peoples. Comparing inanimate objects as being more valuable than persons is completely unnecessary and definitely unbiblical. However if I had the choice to have a different guide or to change the way things transpired today I would not. Seeing the true biases from all peoples from this country has become very beneficial to my conclusions on certain issues. While I don’t grab biases and create my own bias from a bias I disliked, I get a picture of reality from the biases presented. It is important to look at the facts and truly understand the situation keeping an open mind and being lead by the Holy Spirit.

Categories: Israel | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

