Day 21 (Garden Tomb Easter Service)

Today was a great day. We all woke up very early and walked to the Garden Tomb where many believe Jesus was buried for three days and then rose from the dead. The band was great and the speaker was fantastic. It was a wonderful experience. I woke up at 5:53am and we all left the building at 6:00am so I didn’t get much time to prepare.

This is a video of the service. It was difficult to estimate the amount of people that attended the service but it was really packed. The speaker spoke about the Resurrection of Jesus. 1 Corinthians 15:14-19 says,

And if Christ has not been raised, our preaching is useless and so is your faith. More than that, we are then found to be false witnesses about God, for we have testified about God that he raised Christ from the dead. But he did not raise him if in fact the dead are not raised. For if the dead are not raised, then Christ has not been raised either. And if Christ has not been raised, your faith is futile; you are still in your sins. Then those also who have fallen asleep in Christ are lost. If only for this life we have hope in Christ, we are of all people most to be pitied.

If Christ has not been raised from the dead then we are not just terribly wrong but we are testifying lies about God. If Christ has not been raised from the dead then Christianity is worshiping a dead Messiah. If Christ has not been raised from the dead then Christianity is the biggest conspiracy to have ever existed.

1 Corinthians 15 3-8 says,

For what I received I passed on to you as of first importance: that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures, that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day according to the Scriptures, and that he appeared to Cephas, and then to the twelve. After that, he appeared to more than five hundred of the brothers and sisters at the same time, most of whom are still living, though some have fallen asleep. Then he appeared to James, then to all the apostles, and last of all he appeared to me also, as to one abnormally born.

What I want to point out about this scripture is that Jesus Christ did rise from the Dead. There have been many skeptics of Jesus and often times when they get to the point of the Resurrection of Christ they are stumped. The written record of Jesus and the mass amount of witnesses to the risen Lord is overwhelming. To ignore this fact is to blatantly reject Jesus. Many people say that the witnesses of the risen Christ where hallucinating. If you can find an event in history where 500 people in the same place at the same time hallucinated the same thing then I will consider that opinion. Even the idea that 2 people can hallucinate the same thing is rare. If in fact 500 people did hallucinate the same thing then that in and of itself is a miracle.

My point is simple. There is no evidence of Jesus’s body. It is gone. His remains are not on the outskirts of Jerusalem somewhere. Through out more than 2 millennium one of the most important people, Jesus Christ and the claim of his resurrection has not been proven false. Jesus is alive and well and reigning.

This is the Garden Tomb. Do you see any remains or bones?

Being in Jerusalem for Easter has been indescribable. Every Easter is great but I have walked where Jesus walked, I have stood where Jesus was mocked, I have seen where Jesus was beaten, I have witness the location of his crucifixion and I have touched the place of his resurrection. There is no event, person, place, or time that can come near the experience that I have had these past few days.

When I survey the wondrous cross

On which the Prince of Glory died

My richest gain I count but loss

And pour contempt on all my pride

Nothing holds meaning except the Truth that Jesus has shown.

Jesus is the Son of God. He is the second person of the Trinity. Many people have said, “I can show you the way.” Jesus said, “I am the Way. Many people have said, “I can show you the Truth.” Jesus said, “I am the Truth.” Many people have said, “I can show you the way to life.”

Jesus said, “I am the life.”

The tomb is empty

Categories: Israel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

