Day 34 (The End? I refuse)

The end of the road is here. Today was the last day. I slept in then came downstairs and ate breakfast. After breakfast we had prayer. Everyone here prayed for each other. I think this was very important to do before we leave at the end of the day.

I can go on and on about how incredible this trip was, the places I went, the things I have seen, where I have walked, people I have met, and many other things, but not one of these explains the impact this trip has had. I have been on multiple mission trips, excursions with youth groups, internships with churches, and ministry through schools. Out of every trip I have taken, this trip by far outweighs the others. The reason this trip rocked does not lie within the “stuff” I have seen, but the people I have been with.

I am going to miss all of these incredible people. I am excited to meet up with the few I live close enough to this summer. We are planning on watching the Avengers and just hanging out.I love these people dearly and everyone here has made an impact in my life.

 

 

I have moved on a couple times in life leaving good friends behind. Leaving Charleston may have been the hardest. I spent my entire life in that place but when God opens doors and says go, I go. I know that I will not be able to remain good friends with everyone from this trip which is sad. However, I will do my best to remain in contact with most via facebook, twitter, and other ways. Many are graduating so I will not see them next semester. Even the ones I will see next semester will fade as time goes by. Time is a friend who I Love and Hate at the same time.

When I was a child I would always find it annoying when old people would only tell stories. Stories of this person, stories of that person, what happened then, why it happened. I am beginning to understand why they did this. Good memories can cause one to smile. They can also cause pain. Memories override everything in importance. Memories are real events that happened personally. There is no book, no movie, and no story that is more important than our personal testimony. There is nothing of more earthly importance than the events that take place in our lives and it is people that make those events important. Memories are more valuable than diamonds.

Since everyone here is saved by the grace of God, I look forward to the day when we sit in the Kingdom of Heaven and like old people, we can reminisce on these incredible 5 weeks.

 

 

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you’ve said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

Dr. Seuss said, “Don’t cry because it is over, smile because it happened.”

My Farewell is not sad

My Farewell is abundantly glad

My Farewell does not bring sad tears

My Farewell brings love for all to hear

 

I cannot stress the value of these times

This line is random cuz nothing rhymes

A picture has been painted upon my heart

It is truly my favorite work of art

 

I could remember and simply cry

But doing that would not satisfy

The feelings I had before the start

And the ones now before we part

 

The End is never and I refuse

To decide “It’s over” I will not choose

My mind can never simply erase

All my friends and every face

 

My Farewell is not sad

My Farewell is abundantly glad

My Farewell does not bring sad tears

My Farewell brings love for all to hear

 

Shalom.

 

 

Categories: Israel | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Day 34 (The End? I refuse)

  1. I am Dawn Luke’s mom. Thanks for sharing this beautiful piece. God bless you. He has great plans for you, of that I am certain!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

