Sleeping Bag (MH Phantom 0)

This review is for the sleeping bag on the right of this picture. Mountain Hardwear Phantom 0 degree bag.

Phantom pic #1

Phantom pic #1

I’ve used this sleeping bag for only one section hike. I usually try to stay away from weather that would require me to use a 0 degree bag. I used this bag in the Himalayas. The weather never got lower than 20 degrees but I’d rather be safe than sorry. So I haven’t used this bag anywhere near its temp rating. All I can say is a was super toasty in the 20’s at night and have no doubt this bag would be comfortable down into the single digits.

Phantom pic #2

Phantom pic #2

This bag has 800 fill goose down, its a snug cut. I wouldn’t recommend this bag for a large build person. Rather Id push them to one of Montbell’s stretchy bags. This bag comes in at just over 2 1/2 pounds which is very good for a 0 degree bag. Mountain Hardwear really overdid it with this bag. It is a beautiful piece of gear. I enjoyed taking it out of my pack every night. Its just easy on the eyes. It takes some time for it to fluff up after being compressed all day but when it does the loft is quite impressive. However when compared to a Western Mountaineering bag or feathered friends I’d assume its not as high quality. Still, its a dependable, light, and warm bag.

Phantom pic #3

Phantom pic #3

In pic #3 you can see the hood. The hood cinches tight and the draft collar is very effective. I did not feel any heat loss from the bag through the cold nights in the Himalayas. I have yet to sleep in another sleeping bag that has as nice a hood as the Phantom does. The guys at Outdoorgearlab concur. They say, “The Phantom is equipped with the best hood design of any sleeping bag weve tested. Specifically, it was the only one that remained comfortable when the hood and neck baffle were fully cinched.” I have found these guys to give somewhat reliable reviews and couldn’t agree more with their opinion on this bag. Here is their review, http://www.outdoorgearlab.com/Sleeping-Bag-Down-Cold-Weather-Reviews/Mountain-Hardwear-Phantom-0

Phantom pic #4

Phantom pic #4

Here in pic #4 you can see the loft of the bag after it had been setting out for a while. The sleeping pad I was using with this bag was a Thermarest Ridgrest SOL. Nothing fancy. I only wore underwear to sleep. This is the regular version of this bag which is good for people 6 ft and under. Im only 5’6 so this was plenty for me. I was able to wiggle around, sleep on my side, stomach or back. I even tossed some clothes in the bag to keep it warm through the night so that putting close on in the morning wasn’t horrifying. It was not constricting to me at all. For a larger male this may be different. Now this bag is not cheap. The street price looks like it ranges from 380-580. I got this bag with a coupon on sale. I ended up paying only 240 for it.

Phantom pic #5

Phantom pic #5

Phantom pic #6

Phantom pic #6

Now to talk about the packed size of this bag. Its kinda huge. Like I wouldn’t be able to carry this in my Golite jam 50. I have to switch to my osprey Aether 60. Now I don’t really know What size is good for a 0 degree bag but the two pictures to the right show the size of this one. You can make up your mind if it is good or not. I’ve thought about selling this bag many times because I hardly use it. But I got it for so cheap and I know that one day I may need it again and wouldn’t forgive myself if I got rid of it. So for now, it sits in my closet. Hope this review helped you. As a conclusion I would recommend this bag to a friend. However I wouldn’t recommend it at 580.00 dollars. At that price one could buy a western mountaineering bag. I would recommend it for around 380.00 dollars. You just need to find it on sale.

Conclusion: I give this bag a 7 out of 10 only because it is so expensive. If you can find it for less than 380.00 then it is a 10 out of 10 bag. For 585.00 you can buy a kodiak MF from Western Mountaineering that will be better than the Phantom 0.

Categories: Gear | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

