Mind Militia #2

“Nick, when you’re 40 you will regret what you’re doing. You are going to wish you went and made something of yourself, save money and own things. You could have a career. You could have done something with your life! Not just being a volunteer.”

For those of you who do not know what I do. I volunteer at a non-profit coffee shop that gives a some of its profits to help educate children in Nicaragua who otherwise would not receive a quality education. I do not receive a salary. I live off of the support of friends and family who believe in the mission I am working for. However after this statement from a customer, my world is wrecked. I have decided to give up my philosophy on life. This customer was completely correct and I can’t believe I couldn’t see it before.

I have to make something of myself. I need to go back to school, I need to get a degree in something that matters and I need to find a high paying job in the United States and start saving. I have to do this if I want to make something of myself. In the process I will search hard to find a good intelligent attractive woman to be my wife so that when I produce offspring they may also be intelligent and become important individuals. I need to invest in stocks and IRA’s so I can make enough money to send all my children to school so they, just like me, will become successful and make something of themselves. I have already wasted 10 years of my life serving and serving and serving when I should have been working and working and working to advance my income, my stature, and my seed. So its time for a change of pace.

“No one can serve two masters. For you will hate one and love the other, or be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.” Matthew 6:24

“For the love of money is at the root of all kinds of evil. And some people, craving money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many sorrows.” 1 Timothy 6:10

“Surely the fate of human beings is like that of the animals; the same fate awaits them both: As one dies, so dies the other. All have the same breath; humans have no advantage over animals. Everything is meaningless.” Ecclesiastes 3:19

“Say a couple have scores of children and live a long, long life but never enjoy themselves—even though they end up with a big funeral! I’d say that a stillborn baby gets the better deal. It gets its start in a mist and ends up in the dark—unnamed. It sees nothing and knows nothing, but is better off by far than anyone living.” Ecclesiastes 6:3

“Wherever your treasure is, there your heart and thoughts will also be.” Matthew 6:21

When I heard this statement written in the beginning from this customer I believe I laughed. Im not sure if it was out loud or just an, “in my head chuckle” which happens often. It still catches me of guard that the majority of the world believes I’m crazy. But it is not me who is the crazy one. At the end of all things. When this world vanishes, with its flaky ever changing philosophies. When death finally retires because its work is done. Nothing will remain. No money. No status. No things. Not even a great amount of children will bring you purpose. The only thing that will matter, and the only thing that should matter now is: Are you a follower of Christ and are you submitted to God’s will.

“Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me and for the gospel will save it. What good is it for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul? If anyone is ashamed of me and my words in this adulterous and sinful generation, the Son of Man will be ashamed of them when he comes in his Father’s glory with the holy angels.” Mark 8:34-39

Categories: Theology, Utila | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

